Home News Races Results Runners Clubs About
Lairig Ghru
 Race Details
Race Date Sunday, 30 June 2019
Start Time 10:00am
Venue Braemar to Aviemore
Website http://deesiderunners.com/?page_id=27
Distance 43 km
Climb 640 m
Record (M) 2:58:10 - Murray Strain (2017)
Record (F) 3:32:38 - Lucy Colquhoun (2006)
Online entry only

Braemar to Luibeg Burn
Good fast running on tarmac and trails, until you wade the Luibeg Burn

Luibeg Burn to Pools of Dee
A steep climb after the burn, then much rougher underfoot and a wild setting

Pools of Dee to Rothiemurchus Forest
Your first glimpse of Aviemore from the highpoint. Then a rough descent at first until you cross the main Lairig Ghru burn (get water here)

Rothiemurchus Forest to Aviemore
A long tiring flog through the forest with no water stations. Make sure you have water before entering the forest. Once you hit the road at Coylumbridge, there are 2 miles to the finish opposite Aviemore Police Station

 Previous Results
YearWinnerFirst Lady
2018 George Foster (3:18:36) Tessa Strain (3:40:17)
2017 Murray Strain (2:58:10) Joanna Zakrzewski (3:53:27)
2016 Rob Sinclair (3:06:46) Moira Davie (3:57:11)
2015 Sam Hesling (3:15:18) Sarah Hodgkinson (4:32:09)
2014 Alasdair Anthony (3:21:19) Megan Mowbray (3:48:05)
2013 Dan Gay (3:15:55) Gillian Sangster (4:04:00)
2012 Dan Gay (3:12:05) Morag McClelland (4:05:03)
2011 Andrew Fallas (3:16:57) Kate Bailey (3:44:49)
2010 Matthew Sullivan (3:14:26) Morgan Windram-Geddes (3:49:40)
2009 Ray Ward (3:23:08) Alison Matthews (4:29:56)
2008 Donald Naylor (3:10:05) Lucy Colquhoun (3:46:01)
2007 Paul Raistrick (3:04:25) Helen Johnson (4:19:03)
2006 Donald Naylor (3:07:02) Lucy Colquhoun (3:32:38)
 Runners by Year
Web Development - © Bill Fisher