Home News Races Results Runners Clubs About
Maddy Moss Hill Race
 Race Details
Race Date Wednesday, 10 July 2019
Start Time 7:00pm
Venue Woolpack Inn, Tillicoultry
Website http://www.ochilhillrunners.org.uk
Distance 9.8 km
Climb 710 m
Record (M) 0:47:39 - Billy Rodgers (1996)
Record (F) 0:53:10 - Angela Mudge (1999)

Registration will be upstairs in the Woolpack Inn, 1-3 Glassford Square, Tillicoultry just down from the race start.

Race Profile

Possibly the best, and generally the longest time-wise, of the mid-week Bog and Burn races. The race starts up a near vertical grass slope adorned with gorse bushes, before breaking onto a runnable path and a short rocky descent to a burn crossing. The ascent up the nose of The Law is largely hands on knees, with only short sections of shuffle running. The route then opens out across the grassy tops of Ben Cleuch and Andrew Gannel Hill, descending to cross Maddy Moss itself, then following the fence line round the flank of Kingseat before turning SW along a broad grassy ridge providing a great fast running descent, becoming more technical lower down. The final section of downhill is frighteningly fast and tricky before the near vertical plummet to the finish.

Full waterproof body cover + hat & gloves must be worn/carried. Compass, map & whistle must be carried

Results Archive on Ochils Website

 Previous Results
YearWinnerFirst Lady
2019 James Espie (0:52:13) Angela Mudge (1:03:21)
2018 James Waldie (0:52:15) Catherine Joanne MacPhail (1:09:56)
2017 Kristian Jones (0:47:45) Hollie Orr (1:04:05)
2016 Joe Symonds (0:51:29) Fanni Gristwood (1:01:32)
2015 Graham Gristwood (0:48:37) Edel Mooney (1:03:26)
2014 Joe Symonds (0:50:16) Madeline Robinson (1:04:06)
2013 Andrew Wright (0:51:35) Lisa Boyd (1:07:20)
2012 Kenny Richmond (0:54:26) Jane Jackson (1:09:37)
2011 Alasdair Anthony (0:50:31) Christina Rankin (1:00:17)
2010 Jamie Stevenson (0:52:17) Emma O`Shea (1:04:41)
2009 Murray Strain (0:50:38) Iona Craft (1:01:02)
2008 Grant Stewart (0:49:27) Elke Prasad (0:59:22)
2007 Dan Gay (0:52:41) Elke Prasad (0:56:39)
2006 Andy Symonds (0:53:52) Helen Palmer (1:08:48)
2005 Alasdair Anthony (0:50:30) Sarah Legge (1:06:18)
 Runners by Year
Web Development - © Bill Fisher