Home News Races Results Runners Clubs About
Two Breweries Hill Race
 Race Details
Race Date Saturday, 28 September 2019
Start Time 12:00 noon
Venue Traquair to Broughton
Website http://www.twobreweries.org.uk
Distance 30 km
Climb 1500 m
Record (M) 2:33:57 - John Taylor (1991)
Record (F) 2:53:56 - Angela Mudge (2000)
Online entry at EntryCentral

The bus leaves Broughton for Traquhair at 10am, with race registration at Traquhair. Strict kit-checks before the race.

1. Traquair to Glenrath
Starts in splendid grounds of Traquair House with a cavalry charge for the main gates. Gentle downhill tarmac takes you to a farm track leading onto open hillside. This becomes more heathery before reaching the ridge and more good running before climbing Birkscairn Hill. Next is an exciting steep heathery descent to cross Glensax Burn, before steep climbing to Hundleshope and Stob Law. Another long fast descent brings you to the first water station at Glenrath Farm.

2. Glenrath to Stobo
The next section is in sharp contrast and enters a forestry plantation before climbing a steep firebreak to the summit of Whitelaw Hill. More fast downhill running takes you to the next road crossing at Stobo (drinks).

3. Stobo to Broughton
The last section is the most demanding, starting with a long slog up a gently uphill track, then rough moorland to reach a very steep climb up Trahenna. This is where all the runners appear to be hung out to dry, and is a good place to make or lose places! The final descent to Broughton is generally accompanied with various degrees of cramp.

John Taylor
The record for Two Breweries was set by John Taylor in 1991.
John was an international athlete who died in 2002, aged 33, from a heart condition known as cardiomyopathy.
The John Taylor Foundation was created to raise awareness of this condition, and to assist young athletes.

Route fly over:

 Previous Results
YearWinnerFirst Lady
2019 Tom Owens (2:48:56) Holly Page (3:11:21)
2018 Andrew Fallas (2:53:27) Catriona Buchanan (3:20:08)
2017 Kenny Richmond (2:59:22) Shona Robertson (3:35:49)
2016 Alasdair McLeod (2:56:53) Charlotte Morgan (3:22:46)
2015 Graham Gristwood (2:44:04) Kerstin Leslie (3:32:10)
2014 Andrew Fallas (2:46:48) Jasmin Paris (3:01:19)
2013 Colin Donnelly (2:48:48) Angela Mudge (3:08:39)
2012 Stewart Whitlie (2:51:54) Jasmin Paris (3:11:05)
2011 Stewart Whitlie (2:56:00)
Mark Harris
Jasmin Paris (3:14:07)
2010 Murray Strain (2:41:21) Andrea Priestley (3:22:00)
2009 Scott Fraser (2:47:30) Megan Mowbray (3:37:39)
2008 Alasdair Anthony (2:47:58) Lucy Colquhoun (3:12:35)
2007 Colin Donnelly (2:47:09) Lucy Colquhoun (3:29:15)
2006 Stewart Whitlie (2:52:32) Elke Prasad (3:47:02)
2005 Stewart Whitlie (2:50:10) Lucy Colquhoun (3:24:51)
 Runners by Year
Web Development - © Bill Fisher